Just tryna eat the bar Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/ Sat, 17 Nov 2018 10:08:39 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Nov 14, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2018.html <p>afternoon: 9 miles total, 6:36 average. ran 8 with finch, josh, ethan, and mark, then did some strides. felt super good today. biked after, classic 30min song chorus workout&nbsp;</p> Wed, 14 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 13, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-13-2018.html <p>morning: 2 mile easy shakeout. did it with julianna, one of my good friends from the gymnastics team. she wants me to train her, so i&#39;m giving her workouts starting today. she held on, which was cool to see.</p> <p>afternoon: ran 6 easy with mark, 7:52 average. felt nice to go slow. then headed over to the birdcage to bike. 30mins of song chorus workout. felt gooooood.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 13 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 12, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2018.html <p>ran 8 miles solo after classes today. twas cold and windy, and i had a nice headwind the last 3 miles. felt good though, so i closed pretty hard; went 5:59, 5:30, 5:10 for the last 3 miles. 6:10 avg for the whole run. good stuff.</p> Mon, 12 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 11, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-11-2018.html <p>BACK TO TRAINING. BREAK WEEK IS OVER</p> <p>ran 6 miles solo, 6:26 average. 2xParkLoop. felt good, even though it was incredibly windy and cold. then biked for 30 minutes and did my song chorus workout. haven&#39;t biked hard since the summer. felt good but i know i&#39;ll be sore. feels good to train again! that break was exactly what i needed.</p> Sun, 11 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 10, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-10-2018.html <p>didn&#39;t run today, but played spikeball for about 6 hours&nbsp;</p> Sat, 10 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 09, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-09-2018.html <p>4 easy solo</p> Fri, 09 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 08, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-08-2018.html <p>ran 5 easy from my house. i didn&#39;t eat or drink anything beforehand, and i had just woken up, and i closed in 4:56 with a headwind. &#39;twas stupid, but i&#39;m kind of itching to get training again.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 07, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-07-2018.html <p>no running today, but played a lot of spikeball.</p> Wed, 07 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 06, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-06-2018.html <p>played a good amount of spikeball. then ran 3 easy at night, did some core and bands after. i love break weeks. running 3 a day, playing lots of spikeball and other fun sports, and just enjoying life is nice. i know this break week will be good for me, because i can already feel myself wanting to go fast and train hard again. that means come next week, my motivation will be through the roof.</p> Tue, 06 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 05, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-05-2018.html <p>my season is officially over; i won&#39;t be racing at regionals. twas a good one! i&#39;m fitter than i&#39;ve ever been. good stepping stone for the indoor season. however, we&#39;re going to be on our own until after regionals/nationals, and i can&#39;t bring myself to train on my own until january. we have a team meeting today so afterwards i&#39;ll talk to coach and see if i can take a break week this week. i&#39;ll still probably run about 30min a day this week and do some core and resistance band stuff, but i know i&#39;ll burn out if i just keep grinding solo until january.&nbsp;</p> <p>decided to take the break. i need it. 3 easy today&nbsp;</p> Mon, 05 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 04, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-04-2018.html <p>easy 6 with josh and adrian</p> Sun, 04 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Nov 03, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-03-2018.html <p>took another rest day. i&#39;m getting burned out mentally</p> Sat, 03 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Nov 02, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-02-2018.html <p>took today as my rest day</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Nov 01, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-01-2018.html <p>morning:&nbsp;<span id="docs-internal-guid-5f9f10b4-7fff-bd2b-e561-0066e6b21997"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-weight: 700; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">5 mile easy shakeout</span><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">. Less cold this morning. Ran from home to the track</span></span></p> <p><span><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">afternoon: </span></span><span id="docs-internal-guid-1660515d-7fff-f47a-c7c8-d960b825d8d6"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-weight: 700; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">7 miles</span><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;"> with Adrian and Ethan. Averaged slow, which felt nice. Hopped in with Francis and Maddy during her workout, so we did a 600, 400, 300 at about 5:20 pace. Felt nice.</span></span></p> <p><span><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">night: </span></span><span id="docs-internal-guid-ebac80f2-7fff-23b7-dd49-3d22f43455a9"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-weight: 700; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">4 miles</span><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;"> with Cassie. Nice three-run day.</span></span></p> Thu, 01 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 31, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-31-2018.html <p>morning: 3 easy shakeout. the ususal</p> <p>afternoon: 10 solo, 6:45 average. super inconsistent pace lol, hit some 5:15&#39;s and some 8:30&#39;s</p> Wed, 31 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 30, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-30-2018.html <p>morning: 3 mile easy shakeout</p> <p>afternoon: dope run with aaron and michael. ran southview and extended up to green hollow. 43 minutes up, 35 down. good stuff. 7:45 avg on the technical trails</p> Tue, 30 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 29, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-29-2018.html <p>morning: 2 mile easy shakeout</p> <p>afternoon: practice finally lol. warmup, drills, strides, 12x400m with 90sec rest at a little quicker than normal pace, cooldown. averaged about 66 for the 400s. good stuff; haven&#39;t gone that fast for that long in a while</p> Mon, 29 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Oct 28, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-28-2018.html <p>ran 4 miles for my sunday shakeout but kind of fast. 5:57 average lol</p> Sun, 28 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 27, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-27-2018.html Sat, 27 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 26, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-26-2018.html Fri, 26 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 25, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-25-2018.html <p>shakeout this morning that turned into a run run, 6 miles from my house around campus</p> <p>ran with kasey and francis in the afternoon, 10 miles. didn&#39;t plan on a 16 mile day but i feel good</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 24, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-24-2018.html <p>practice was on our own today again. ran 10 solo. legs were beat from the workout yesterday. 7:29 avg. love going slow&nbsp;</p> Wed, 24 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 23, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-23-2018.html 2 mile shakeout in the morning by myself Fun workout in mesquite in the evening. 2mile warmup, drills and strides. Then 5x(1000, 600, 300), with 60sec rest between the 1000 and 600, 90sec rest between the 600 and 300, and 2min rest between sets. It was hot down there but I still managed to hit decent times. Averaged about 3 flat for the 1000s, 1:46 for the 600s, and 47 for the 300s. Cooled down about a mile, then enjoyed the classic post mesquite workout buffet. Good stuff, and fun time with the boys Tue, 23 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 22, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-22-2018.html <p>just an easy 4 miles today with mark. i try to make it a point to take one day a week really easy, that happened to be today.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Oct 21, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-21-2018.html Nice 14 mile long run with Spencer and one of his buddies. We did little black mountain and extended into the canyon. Fun showing them that. Sun, 21 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 20, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-20-2018.html 2 mile shakeout this morning in cedar with Spencer Workout at night at Dixie state with Spencer. 2mile warm up, then 4x1mile repeats, 1lap jog in between. Hit 4:57, 4:57, 4:54, 4:51. felt smooth and good, and never felt like I had to exert myself too hard. 1milecool down, then drove back to spencers house and ran 3 more miles. Sat, 20 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 19, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-19-2018.html 2 mile solo shakeout in the morning Afternoon run with Spencer, mark, Kasey, and Thomas. 6:55 avg for 10. Fri, 19 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 18, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-18-2018.html <p>5 easy this morning by myself. practice seems to be on our own a lot lately&nbsp;</p> <p>5 easy again with aaron</p> Thu, 18 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 17, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-17-2018.html <p>nice little shakeout with koy this morning whilst listening to bob dylan. 2 miles from home. it&#39;s starting to be my favorite time of the year; from now on, all easy runs are on our own and we&#39;ll be going to mesquite for practice every now and then&nbsp;</p> <p>2xSouthview trail today with josh, koy, and mark. love when practice is on our own and we can go do whatever&nbsp;</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 16, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-16-2018.html <p>solid workout this morning. 2 mile warmup, strides and drills. then 20x400. first 4 hit 70&#39;s with 2:30 rest, next 4 hit 70&#39;s with 2:00 rest, next 4 hit 69&#39;s with 90sec rest, next 4 hit 69&#39;s with 90sec rest, then we had to make the last 4 faster, so we hit 66, 65, 65, 64, with 90sec rest. solid effort, and i felt smooth and good all throughout. cooled down about a mile then sprinted to class because i was late. annoyed with being late to class every day due to practice. good thing we&#39;re switching to the afternoon soon.</p> <p>side note: i&#39;ve been consistently our 8th/9th guy this season. which is super cool. to be on one of the best teams in the nation is lit. but i just wish i could travel. last year 12 traveled, and of course the year that i&#39;m at my best, the budget only allows for 7 to travel. oh well.&nbsp;</p> <p>did a shakeout in the afternoon, 6.5 total. nice and slow. ran from my house to the track where josh was doing the workout because he couldn&#39;t come in the morning, cheered him on for a little bit, then ran home. long mileage day today, oops&nbsp;</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 15, 2018 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-15-2018.html <p>haven&#39;t been on the ol&#39; blog in a good long while. not sure why, just wasn&#39;t my thing for the last few months. but i&#39;ve been doing good. training has been going quite well. summer miles were long and plentiful, and i biked a lot. good stuff.</p> <p>last thursday i did a Bruce protocol to find out what my vO2 max is. i scored quite high on the test, making it to stage 7. my vo2 max is 65. not bad. also found out where my lactate threshold is, and that it occurs at about 85% of my vo2 max, which is pretty good. cool stuff.</p> <p>today practice was on our own. ran 10 miles solo, just because i haven&#39;t ran solo in a while and it felt nice. 6:15 avg</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2018 06:00:00