"Unfettered Sage Thoughts" Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 22 May 2017 23:01:59 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, May 12, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-12-2017.html Pre meet with mark. Warmup, 2x400m at mile pace, 3x50m starts, cool down. Hit 63 and 66 in the intense wind. Won't be windy at BYU hopefully. Kinda glad I'm not at conference...id be doing the 5k or 10k, but I get to do a mile this weekend. Fri, 12 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 11, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2017.html Ran 6 miles. Debating whether to Do more today, not sure if it will help me for this weekend. Thu, 11 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 10, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2017.html Another chill run with mark. Wal-Mart canyon with airport extension, 7:02 avg. Felt heavy Wed, 10 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 09, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2017.html Nice speed/tune up. This is my 2nd or 3rd week of doing hard speed instead of aerobic intervals, so I'm feeling confident for the mile this weekend. Warm-up, drills, strides, then 2x400m, 2x300m, 2x200m with 2min rest, 2:30 rest, 3min rest. Hit 63, 63, 45, 44, 29, 28. Feeling more comfortable with speed everyday. Cooldown, then donuts + coffee + ice cream + cupcakes + star wars at the bird cage Tue, 09 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 08, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2017.html Ran 10 miles on dikes with mark, 6:54 avg. Nice chill morning before the wind starts. Mon, 08 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 06, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2017.html Was shooting for a 12-14 mile long run with Josh and mark. Got out and immediately knew it was gonna be a suffer fest. Ran 11 on cross hollows at 7:02 pace. We all passed away, don't really know why. Sometime you gotta have those suffer runs though. Sat, 06 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 05, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-05-2017.html Good run in the cedar city wind. 8 with Bryan in Wal-Mart canyon, then 2 more on my own. 6:36 avg. Long run tomorrow probably. Also seeing THE GROWLERS IN VEGAS TONIGHT Fri, 05 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 04, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-04-2017.html Speeeeed. Warm-up n drills, then the workout was 2x400m at 3k pace w 45sec rest, then 2x300m at mile pace w 60sec rest, then 1x100m all out, then cooldown. Hit faster on everything. Hit 67, 64, then 47, 46, then 13.6 into the wind. Good stuff Thu, 04 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 03, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2017.html 6 with bryan, mike, George, and mark. 6:47 avg. Halfway done with mileage for the day Ran 6 more down in st George, easy pace because it was like 95 degrees. Not used to heat anymore Wed, 03 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 02, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2017.html Speed ish workout today. Warm-up n drills n strides, then 4x500m with 2 lap recovery jog, cooldown. Good stuff. Hit 79, 79, 79, 78 for the 500s. Gooooood times, came thru 400 in 63, 63, 63, 62, so I assume it was an avg of 4:12 ish pace. Good stuff. 9 PM: Aidan said he was doing a repeat workout after work, so me and kasey hopped in to help pace and warm-up and cooldown w him. Good stuff, all I did was the last 400m of his Last rep, hit 67. He killed it, and I got extra mileage, so not bad. Tue, 02 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 01, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2017.html 8 50% with Bryan for the first 3, then last 5 on my own. 6:31 avg. Wanted to do 4 more later today but I got too busy with moving into my new house. Mon, 01 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 29, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-29-2017.html Shakeout Str8 yoggin More yoggin Sat, 29 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 28, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-28-2017.html Shakeout Steve Scott Invite, my last 5k of freshman year. Twas a decent one. Warmed up, felt good. The race was under the lights so that was fun. The gun went off and I got out right into 1st place, then settled to let 2 guys go around me and do the work. Worked with them for a bit, then let them get ahead a bit too, til the first mile. Mile in 4:53. Then I reeled the two guys back in, I really wanted to go for dubs. Worked with them for the next mile, 2 miles in 9:52 ish. Then I really started feeling it, I stopped running 73s and started hitting 75s and 76s. Last 3 laps were really hard, and a northern Colorado dude went around me, I stuck with him for about 200m, then I moved with about 450m to go. Kicked really hard the last 150m, felt good about that. He outleaned me by a little bit, he was 15:35.42 and I was 15:35.43. The aggravating part was when we were kicking, he stuck his arm out at the finish line as if it would propel him forward or like the clock would go off his arm across the finish line, idiot. What a year. Lots of ups and downs, mainly downs, but I think I'm gonna see a big jump this summer that'll result in me traveling for cross. Fri, 28 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 27, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2017.html Pre meet at UC Irvine. Warmed up 3 through campus, it was quite nice. Went to the bathroom in one of those controversial gender inclusive bathrooms, that was interesting. 2x400m at 5k, 3x50m starts, cooled down another 3. Good stuff. I race tomorrow night, I think I can do well. Also Charles jock and Allyson Felix are at this meet so they'll be cool to see those Olympians run. Thu, 27 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 26, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2017.html Good run with Mark. Good conversations. Dikes 50%, 6:49 avg. Wed, 26 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 25, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2017.html Only workout of the week this week. 3x1k w 3min rest at 5k pace. Hit 2:56, thought I hit 3 flat but it was 2:59 after checking my watch, then 3:06, kinda passed away a bit, the LEGS have been heavy, but gooood stuff Tue, 25 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 24, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2017.html Practice on our own today. Did dikes 50% with kasey, nice chill pace of 6:58. Gotta have those chill paces in prep for race week. Good run and good conversations with kasey Mon, 24 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 22, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2017.html Ran 3.5 down in st George, gonna run more later today Sat, 22 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 21, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-21-2017.html Last day of effort this week, some good hard speed. Warmup, drills, strides, and the workout was 2x (400, 300, 200) w 2min rest, 4min rest between sets, then 6x150 buildup, where we start the first 50m at about 1500m pace, then all out the next 50m, then cruise in the last 50m. Good effort today, first set went 64, 47, 29, second set went 63, 47, 28. Didn't time the 150s. Gooood stuff today Fri, 21 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 20, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-20-2017.html Day 3 of effort today, good workout again. Good ol 60% in the wind, with strides 10 strides after. We did a revised route. We started on farm run, but then instead of turning left into the deathtrap, we turned right to end of the world. Splits were 5:56, 5:58, 5:52, 5:45, 5:50, 5:39, 5:33, 5:32. Good negative splitting, haven't done that in a while. Strides were good after; good to train the body to go faster after a hard effort. Thu, 20 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 19, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2017.html Day 2 of effort today. Twas a good one. 12x400m with 45sec rest, first 4 at 10k pace, next 4 at 5k pace, last 4 at 3k pace. I did these a little too quick, averaged 73's for the 10k set, 70's for the 5k set, 68's for the 3k set. Goooood stuff Wed, 19 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 18, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2017.html Day 1 of effort, great workout today. 80% and hills in the staggering wind. The tempo time was pretty slow, but my place on the team was stellar (6th), and the effort was definitely there. The wind just made everyone slow today. Then the hills were 4x (15, 20, 15sec). But then coach said that he would blow the whistle once the back guys got to a certain marker on the hill, so they ended up being more like 18, 23 seconds. On the second one I fell hard, but I blasted up and finished second behind kasey lol, because during a race you gotta recover if you fall. Good stuff from everyone today Tue, 18 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 17, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2017.html Ran 6.5 easy w bryan. Legs are still really sore from squaw, so i cut mileage. Also this is gonna be a 4 days week, so it was smart to run easier today Mon, 17 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 15, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2017.html Classic springtime squaw peak summit. 12 miles up and down squaw at 10:42 avg pace, closed in a 6:04. Beautiful and muddy as ever, 3 different people on the trail called me a badass for running up it lol. Good stuff Sat, 15 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 14, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2017.html Shakeout before the workout. Workout in the PM with finchy finch. It was a feel-good workout. 10x400m w 2min rest at steeple-5k ish pace. Averaged about 73's, on the last one me and mike said wed run the first 200m at pace and then blast the last 200m, came through in 36 and finished in 64, so a 28sec last 200m. Nice! Fri, 14 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 13, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2017.html Morning: 2 easy shakeout. Windy asfff Afternoon: ran 10 with koy, did daisy loop then walmart canyon. So windy today, there were points where i wasnt even moving, and being blown to the side and stuff lol Thu, 13 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 12, 2017 http://Ducote.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2017.html Morning: 2 easy shakeout Afternoon: met with mike and koy. Ran razorbacks for 10 miles, good to hit a trail again. But my legs are pretty tired. Good stuff Wed, 12 Apr 2017 06:00:00